Death, Empathy, Gratitude, Journeys, Judaism, Pain, People

A Light

She was a light, on the day of my darkness,

when I crawled into the cavern, her temple, hoping

to find clarity, or at least, some peace

for the morning, if not forever, and

she found me, in the dark. Looked at me.

Saw me. Saw my pain.

And asked, gently, if I wanted to share it.

She heard me with the ears of a friend and

responded with the wisdom of a sage and

helped me heal, that day.

For that alone, I will lay

a stone on her gravesite.

For that alone, I will never forget.

1 thought on “A Light”

Leave a Reply

