Butterfly Migration

I remember I was driving
and it wasn’t a dream but
real life, one day, when
I was heading to what was then
as close as I could come
to a holy place,
the mall in the OC,
alone in the car
a new mother-to-be, gravid
my daughter still growing
inside my swollen belly
and they found me
thousands of bright orange
butterflies, huge wings
soaring above and around and over
my car, heading in the same direction
but on their own path.
It really happened, I swear.
For one day, before I became
who I am, the goddess
Butterfly Maiden sent her servants
to fly with me.

Leave a Reply

