Last One

When you knew
you were leaving
you were so scared
that I’d forget you
that out of sight
would mean
out of my mind
because we were
so new, still,
so fast, but already
knowing we
were meant to be
together, and
I promised you
I would not forget
I would keep you close
I would write, every day
one poem for each day
without you.
Here’s your last one.
The last poem for you
for being gone
but I know,
from the love
pouring out of me
because of you
I’ll write about you
for years to come.
You’ll just be
next to me again,
as I write.

Leave a Reply

