Daily Prompt: Israel Speaks

Daily Prompt: Finding good in something horrible like war or violence

I tried.
For hundreds, thousands
of years, I tried to
be born, through
calling them home and
negotiations and
pleading our case
to the powers that were
to the new powers that replaced
the old ones, when they fell.
But the nations, the others
stood firm against my rebirth.
Until my children died
mowed down in a sea of blood
ripped to shreds in madness
and global warfare raged
evil unmasked, horrifically naked
six million martyred
and then I was reborn.
I wish to God,
even God wishes
there could have been
another way
home.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Israel Speaks

  1. Pingback: Some Can Even Find Good In Bigotry (a poem) | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Clouds Have A Silver Lining | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Pingback: Silver Linings | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

