Chakra energy, Childhood, Empathy, Family, Friends, Fun, Gratitude, Healing, Home, Journeys, Judaism, Love, Truth

Complete

We’re told as children
that Shalom means
Peace
or a way to say
Hello. Goodbye.
But I learned here,
in my home,
in my shul,
that instead Shalom
means Complete.
Shalom means
at rest
with holy Oneness.
Shalom means
Wholeness
and Fulfillment.
Shalom means
Peace flowing,
from not needing
to search for Good,
search for God any longer,
because we have found
Shalom here,
in our homes and our shuls
with each other, our
spiritual sisters and brothers.
Shabbat Shalom
we all say to each other.
And now we know what we mean.
May your search for God,
for Completeness and Wholeness
be fulfilled on this Sabbath day.

5 thoughts on “Complete”

  1. Wow, wouldn’t it be wonderful if we didn’t need to search anymore. I know some people don’t search, but that’s because they don’t want to, not because they have found oneness. I hope I can one day reach what you describe! Do you think it’s possible in this life or it has to wait until we reach a better “place”?

    1. I think I feel like this during the meditations that I do, but it’s much harder to find in daily life. I’ve had suspended moments of connection that have felt like all was right with the world (which is, I believe, how oneness feels), and I do cherish those moments. I wrote the poem in part to remember how that feels and to be able to evoke it when I need to.

  2. I did not know that Shalom also means “complete”–oh, I love that. As an “old” Christian, I’m continuing to learn that in God, I am complete–even when my feelings would argue.

Leave a Reply

