Opal

Mosaic of ocean blues greens
pieced together
because no one piece
is strong enough
to weather the storm
alone, water imbued
fluidity and grace
with the power
the energy of
bringing wishes to life.
I never wore it
it languished in my drawer
because it never felt
right, it was lovely
but untouchable
and too small
too delicate
but it draped my neck
that first night
when you touched it
over my heart
loving and playful
and said we matched
and I knew why
it was time to let
the opal
breathe free.

Leave a Reply

