Amor Vincit Omnia

Love conquers all.
Do I believe that
anymore? After
finding so many kinds
of love
that I thought were
what I wanted and
watching them crumble
one at a time
into memory.
Did those loves
conquer all?
For a time, I think,
the time they needed
to conquer my fears
and doubts
and dreads
and lack of confidence
and bring me back
into myself
little by little
the me that was lost
centuries ago
in rivers of spilt blood
and unfathomable horrors.
And now I’m ready
for a love
that doesn’t conquer
but builds and nurtures
and turns my world
back into the Garden
it once was.

One thought on “Amor Vincit Omnia

Leave a Reply

