Tour

I’ve had these words
ringing in my head
for four days now, because
I knew that morning
I knew what you were feeling
trapped and overwhelmed
but I didn’t know what to do
except cry, and I warned you
I did
that I was taking
a huge risk
letting you in
because I would feel it
the negative emotions
and I always hope I’m wrong
and I so rarely am
so I knew, already,
the day before
what was coming
and Spider Robinson’s words
haunted me then
still wring tears from me now.
If you’re bad, he wrote,
you go to Hell, but
if you’re really evil
they give you a tour
of Heaven first.
Thank you for the tour.
At least now I know
what it looks like
up there.
But now they tell me
I have to find
someone else
who wants to
who’s able to
take the trip
with me?
I think I’ll just
dream of heaven
for awhile
and keep my feet
on the ground.

Leave a Reply

