Whimper

She’s whimpering
in her sleep tonight
a terrible sound
from this little girl
emotions she can’t handle
pummeling her, her first
twisting out of balance
and I know now that it’s
through me, my connection
that she feels this pain.
So I build up the walls,
shut down the open avenues
into my soul, and
let her sleep soundly
in my bed, where she
feels safe and comforted
and connected to her world.
We will weather this together
tonight, but
I worry and wonder
are you alone, and whimpering,
crying in your sleep, simmering
in your pain without me
to hold you and bring you home?

Leave a Reply

