Renunciation

I renounce
something
I’m not quite sure what
but I know something’s
not right
and needs renouncing
some piece of my
poisonous love
has to die
for there to be hope
of new growth and
promise of better days
full of love
I can touch and hold
and pull close to me
in passionate kisses
I’m aching to give.
Some declaration
of renouncing you
to move to someone else
or renouncing me, pretending
this was just a bad dream
or renouncing my ideals
to take instead what comes
my way.
I renounce instead
the normal paths to love.
I renounce my doubts
that I am yours
and give myself
to you again
not caring if
you take the gift.
I renounce my aches
and melt them away
in the heat flooding
my body, head to
heart to earth,
as I drop my burdens
of this world
let them fall to the ground
enlightened with loss.
I want my teacher back
and I renounce the need
for you to be anyone else.

Leave a Reply

