Courage, Empathy, Hope, Love, New Paths, Pain, Regret

Plea

Don’t hurt me,
and you know you can.
I’m begging
you, this time, don’t
listen to the voice
that says I’m a threat
or that any feeling
this strong
can’t be trusted
that I can’t be trusted.
Don’t give in to
the fear and strike
at me, again.
You are safe and
whole if you
just let me be.
Or come to me
and confess
what I’ve always seen
that you have feelings
for me
that dive deep within you
buried under layers
but shining bright
when you read my words
as I did, when I
read yours.
Let there be peace
or love
between us.
No more war.

Leave a Reply

