Bridesmaid

I’ll be at her side, as
the ceremony unfolds
tying her to us
bonds of new family
unbroken, but
I knew she was a part of us
long before this day
when just a few short weeks
after meeting him she
came to visit our mother
paid homage as an equal
and extended the invitation
to become already daughter,
sister and friend, so
of course she asked me
to be a part of her day
and as I help her plan
immersed in weddings
and dresses and shoes and
sparkling tiaras and veils
and flowers and my girls
as angels floating by,
how can I not imagine
and dream and wish for
what it would be like
if the day were mine,
with my beloved
at my side?

Leave a Reply

