Three Wishes

I wished, on a candle
just for me, for
light and love and
turning away from anger
and being able to change
the world, when it needed
changing.

I wished for happiness,
for me but
for you, too, and
not necessarily together
just happiness for each
of us on
our own paths.

And I wished for a
true partner, someone
not even a man, perhaps
maybe a best friend only
but someone who could
join me on my path and
love me and help with
all of my work, so
I’m not always alone.

Those were my wishes
my dreams made real
in a candle’s glow.
Last year’s wish
failed miserably. Will
these come true,
at last?

One thought on “Three Wishes

Leave a Reply

