Courage, Heartbreak, Journeys, Love, Pain, Truth

Shadows

I’m hiding away,
I know that.
And hate it.
But what else
can I do,
knowing that if I
poke my head up
just a little bit
make any kind of contact
even let him know
I’m still here
it will just be
another chance
for him to hurt me
and he’ll take it
without a second thought
not caring at all
how much I cry out in pain?
The shadows shield me
keep me safe
and scared
locked in fear, still
knowing that my
purpose is to be brave
enough to be honest
and I’m failing,
every day.

Leave a Reply

