Thankful

On this day,
I’m thankful for my children
growing faster now
too fast, and
I want to stop time
with them small
but I’m so proud
of the strong, gracious,
inquisitive and empathetic
young women
they’re becoming.

On this day,
I’m thankful for my parents
all four of them
who’ve guided me
and tried their best
to impart their wisdom and love
even as they struggle
through through their own
challenges and triumphs.

On this day,
I’m thankful for the women
who support me and listen
and navigate through the world
on their own paths
but always happy to travel
with me and cheer me on.

On this day,
I’m thankful for the men
who’ve loved me and held me
given me the secure knowledge
of my worth and
the warmth of knowing
they will be there,
if I fall.

On this day,
I’m thankful most of all
for my life and my place
and the eternal loving presence
that nurtures me, not always kindly,
and gives me the opportunities
to do good in the world
just by being me.

This is a new day.
And thank God for that, too.

One thought on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

