The Point

It took me some time
deep soul-searching
and crying and listening
always listening
to the inner voice
and finally, on my own,
I’ve realized the point.
The point of this year,
and the last,
was to be who they need
without you here.
You have your purpose
across the globe
they need your fire there
and your passion
your insights and your heart
but here, in our home,
I will keep
the hearth burning
with unconditional love
and pride and my quest
to learn all that I don’t know.
Your flame burns there
and mine here,
not meeting but melding
my home fires
burning bright in the dark.

2 thoughts on “The Point

Leave a Reply

