Smile

I miss his smile.
It wasn’t bright or sparkling,
but warm and gooey
the happiness of melted chocolate-chip cookies
in the sunshine
child summer play.
He radiated heat and warmth
and I would bask
feeling golden and kissed
bright rays pouring forth.
I miss his smile.
His happiness to see me.
How he said my name and bent,
rounding his shoulders to be closer.
I might, depending on weather
patterns too complex for me to see
or manipulate, I might
feel that smile again.
Be able to wrap myself in that warmth,
smiling up at him as he
smiles down at me.

Leave a Reply

